1 year ago By Admin

Three teams could still land the title in fifth-tier competition.

While some title races in North Wales football have long been cut and dried there are still thrilling battles ongoing in other leagues for the right to be crowned champions.
None more so is this the case than in the North East Wales League, where in the past one team has generally dominated the table.
Ahead of tomorrow's matches, three teams could still win the title - Sychdyn, Mynydd Isa Spartans and Cefn Mawr Rangers.
With each team playing 26 fixtures, Sychdyn have 58 points from 24 starts, Spartans 57 from 25 and Cefn 55 from 24.
To make things even more tantalising, four of the top five are in opposition tomorrow. Sychdyn travel to fifth-place Offa Athletic, who have themselves been outstanding this season, while Cefn Mawr host Spartans.
If Sychdyn and Cefn win, then the title battle will go down to the last day.
And who are due to meet on Saturday, May 13? Yes you've guessed it, Sychdyn are home to Cefn Mawr, who both have an identical goal difference.
What happens tomorrow could decide the championship and make that May 13 tussle academic, but it would be fantastic to have a last-day title decider on the cards.
Since its inception in 2011 as the Clwyd East League, the fifth-tier North East Wales has thrown up some magnificent teams.
The 2011/12 champions FC Nomads of Connah's Quay have gone on to win the Welsh National League Premier Division and but for a ground criteria issue would now be in the Huws Gray Alliance.
FC Queen's Park landed the Clwyd East title at the first attempt in 2013/14 and went through the whole season unbeaten with 19 wins in 20 matches.
They have since won WNL Division One in a canter and this season scooped the Premier Division crown, thus securing elevation to the Huws Gray Alliance.
In 2014/15 Cefn Albion finished top of the North East Wales League, winning 21 out of 22 matches and scoring a massive 150 goals on their way to a four-timer.
The following campaign they topped WNL Division One and this season more than held their own in the Premier.
Last season's NEWL champs were Rhostyllen, who finished 13 points clear, won three other trophies and enjoyed giant-killing runs in the Welsh Cup and FAW Trophy. This season they finished runners-up in WNL Division One and secured promotion to the Premier.

FC Nomads, FC Queen's Park, Cefn Albion and Rhostyllen - all champions of a fifth-tier league who have gone on to bigger things and have the potential to get even better.
The North East Wales League has become a breeding ground for great teams, but who will rule the roost this season?
As I write, Sychdyn are in the driving seat and unlike some past NEWL winners are a long-established club for whom success has been not easy to come by over the years.
This season they appear to have got it right with the Premier Cup already in the bag and they would be popular champions.Spartans and Rangers may be under new names, but Mynydd Isa and Cefn are places which have housed many successful teams in the past, so the pedigree is there.
The North East Wales, was born out of the Flintshire and Wrexham/Denbighshire and Conwy split of the old Clwyd League in 2011.

Presidents Cup Winners, Cefn Mawr Rangers

Where next?

CPD SYCHDYN ARE LEAGUE CHAMPIONS 2016/17. CPD Sychdyn will be presented with the league champions trophy following the final game of the season when they play Cefn Mawr Rangers, at home, on 13th May.
CPD SYCHDYN WIN PREMIER CUP. Sychdyn 4 Offa Athletic 1

North East Wales Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.