Can Buckley Town extend their record to 10 North East Wales FA Challenge Cup triumphs?

By N Beech

Courtesy of @NWsportDave

Record nine-time North East Wales FA Challenge Cup winners Buckley Town have been drawn away against opponents two levels lower on the pyramid in this season’s quarter-finals.

Cymru North outfit Bucks will travel to tier 4 North East Wales Premier Division side Cefn Mawr Rangers in the last eight.

Rangers have got past Connah’s Quay Town and Llangollen Town to reach this stage, while the Trotters eliminated Holywell Town 2-1 in the last round, having previously overcome Castell Alun Colts.

In other 2021-22 quarter-final ties, Welsh Cup last 16 heroes Saltney Town visit FC Queen’s Park, Chirk AAA host Chirk Town in a potential cracker and Mold Alexandra of Ardal North West are home to Ruthin Town of the Cymru North.

1969-70 Brymbo SW
1970-71 Brymbo SW
1971-72 Bala Town
1972-73 Gresford Athletic
1973-74 Llangollen
1974-75 Buckley Rovers
1975-76 Rhosddu
1976-77 Llay Welfare
1977-78 Cefn Albion
1978-79 Sunblest United
1979-80 Buckley Town
1980-81 Buckley Town
1981-82 Brymbo SW
1982-83 Brymbo SW
1983-84 Llay R.B.L.
1984-85 Brymbo SW
1985-86 Mold Alex
1986-87 Mold Alex
1987-88 Mold Alex
1988-89 Lex Xl
1989-90 Llay RBL
1990-91 Lex Xl
1991-92 Gresford Athletic
1992-93 Cefn Druids
1993-94 Wrexham AFC
1994-95 Wrexham AFC
1995-96 Brymbo
1996-97 Rhostyllen Villa
1997-98 Wrexham AFC
1998-99 Flexsys Cefn Druids
1999-2000 Oswestry Town
2000-01 Buckley Town
2001-02 Buckley Town
2002-03 Buckley Town
2003-04 Bala Town
2004-05 Buckley Town
2005-06 Buckley Town
2006-07 Bala Town
2007-08 Bala Town
2008-09 Lex Xl
2009-10 Buckley Town
2010-11 Rhos Aelwyd
2011-12 Cefn Druids
2012-13 Buckley Town
2013-14 Cefn Druids
2014-15 Mold Alexandra
2015-16 Cefn Druids
2016-17 Gresford Athletic
2017-18 Ruthin Town
2018-19 Cefn Druids

2019-20 Competition incomplete (Covid-19)

2020-21 Competition cancelled (Covid-19)

9 – Buckley Town

6 – Brymbo, Cefn Druids

4 – Bala Town, Mold Alexandra

3 – Wrexham, Lex XI, Gresford Athletic

2 – Llay RBL

1 – Ruthin Town, Rhos Aelwyd, Llangollen, Llay Welfare, Buckley Rovers, Rhosddu, Cefn Albion, Sunblest United, Rhostyllen Villa, Oswestry Town.

North East Wales Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.